Israel issues 34 administrative detention orders to Palestinian prisoners

Israeli authorities issued administrative detention orders against 34 Palestinian prisoners for periods between three to six renewable months on yesterday.

Palestinian Prisoners’ Society lawyer Mahmoud Al-Halabi said in a statement that 24 of the orders were issued against prisoners who had already spent long periods in Israeli administrative detention.

The prisoners were identified as: –

  1. Ibrahim Shihdeh Abu Shaqra, Al-Bireh, three month extension
  2. Usama Hani Abu Arqoub, Hebron, three month extension
  3. Fadi Ahmad Zayyat, Ramallah, three month extension
  4. Shadi Muhammad Jarrar, Jenin, four month extension
  5. Nafeth Thib Abu Ubeid, Tulkarem, three month extension
  6. Firas Taysir Qawasmeh, Hebron, four months
  7. Ahmad Abd al-Jalil Shahatit, four month extension
  8. Anas Sam Qaqour, four month extension
  9. Ibrahim Ismail Natsheh, Hebron, three months
  10. Fouad Rabah Assi, Ramallah, four month extension
  11. Muhammad Mutaz Abu Aisha, Jerusalem, four month extension
  12. Amjad Jamal Hashash, Nablus, six month extension
  13. Alaa Abd al-Latif Bani Shamseh, Nablus, six month extension
  14. Waddah Khalid Dweikat, Nablus, six month extension
  15. Adham Omar Abu Arqoub, Ramallah, three month extension
  16. Hussein Ismail Itbeish, 3-month extension.
  17. Muhammad Ali Itbeish, Hebron, four month extension
  18. Jaafar Sami Thaher, Nablus, four month extension
  19. Samara Sami Hujeir, Ramallah, four months
  20. Bassam Moussa Halayqa, Hebron, six month extension
  21. Abd al-Rahman Nabil Bader, Jerusalem, six month extension
  22. Laith Rasmi al-Asafra, Hebron, four months
  23. Wael Younis Bader, Jerusalem, six month extension
  24. Muhammad Izzat al-Khatib, Hebron, four month extension
  25. Saleh Amin Kamil, Jenin, six months
  26. Khalid Nidal Shafie, Nablus, six month extension
  27. Majed Faisal Nazzal, Jenin, six months
  28. Suhaib Assef Bani Odeh, Tubas, four month extension
  29. Jihad Hussam Marie, Ramallah, three months
  30. Rami Mahmoud Beiram, Ramallah, six months
  31. Sharif Muhammad Masalmeh, Hebron, six months
  32. Rami Ibrahim Hadush, Hebron, four months
  33. Salameh Fathi Matariyeh, al-Bireh, six months
  34. Ali Asaad Lulah, Nablus, four months

Rights groups have claimed that Israel’s administrative detention policy has been used as an attempt to disrupt Palestinian political processes, notably targeting Palestinian politicians, activists and journalists.

Although Israeli authorities claim the withholding of evidence during administrative detention is essential for state security concerns, rights groups have instead claimed the policy allows Israeli authorities to hold Palestinians for an indefinite period of time without showing any evidence that could justify their detentions.


Be the first to comment at "Israel issues 34 administrative detention orders to Palestinian prisoners"

Write your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.